Do I have to pay my babysitter minimum wage?
Pursuant to the Youth Minimum Wage Law, you have to pay a minimum of $4.25 per hour to a baby sitter who is less than 20 years old for the first 90 days of their employment. This is called the Youth Minimum Wage Law. Once the sitter turns 20 or has worked for you for more than 90 days (and doesn’t displace an older worker), you have to comply with the state and federal minimum wage laws. The Federal Minimum Wage is currently $7.25 per hour. In Pennsylvania, the minimum wage is $7.25 following the Federal rate but in New Jersey, the minimum wage is $8.25.
2020 Solo Small Firm Conference-NJSBA